My name is “Rachael”…

…  and I am originally from Pakistan. I came to the United States 13 years ago and I got married. I have two minor daughters. I am from a culture where women work inside the house. They take care of the house and the children whereas men provide for the living. I tried to do my job well as a homemaker, but my husband gave me a hard time financially. He abused me verbally and physically all these years. I had no choice but to bear the abuses because I depended on him for living.

Getting a divorce was not an option for me because of pressure from my parents and the society I belonged to. Things kept growing worse. My husband abused my parents and other family members. They finally realized my pain and allowed me to get a divorce.

So, I was able to break the cycle of violence. I moved into RAIN TLC in the end of July. I am going through divorce now. I have been a homemaker all these years of my married life but now, I need to work for living. I am a graduate in psychology from Pakistan, but my degree did not get me any job in the United States. I understand that now I am the sole provider for me and my girls so I decided to pursue more education. I want to have a financially sound career because I want to provide my daughters a good living and not deprive them since their father is no longer supporting them.

Currently I am enrolled for vocational training in computerized financial accounting. I am going to an adult school in Ventura. I have to be on my own as early as possible. It is my goal of becoming independent. RAIN TLC has helped me with counseling and many other skills.

Comments are closed.